Warning: include_once(/home/coinop29/creativeactivism/wp-content/plugins/wp-cirrus/wp-cirrus.php): failed to open stream: Permission denied in /home/coinop29/creativeactivism/wp-settings.php on line 303

Warning: include_once(): Failed opening '/home/coinop29/creativeactivism/wp-content/plugins/wp-cirrus/wp-cirrus.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/local/lib/php:/usr/local/php5/lib/pear') in /home/coinop29/creativeactivism/wp-settings.php on line 303

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/coinop29/creativeactivism/wp-settings.php:303) in /home/coinop29/creativeactivism/wp-includes/feed-rss2.php on line 8
Central Park Zoo: Electronic Design & Construction http://www.creativeactivism.scrapyardchallenge.com Creative Activism in Climate Change: 2/25 - 6/1/2014 Sun, 22 Jun 2014 21:59:36 +0000 en-US hourly 1 https://wordpress.org/?v=4.8 Photos From Final Showcase http://www.creativeactivism.scrapyardchallenge.com/photos-from-final-showcase/ Mon, 02 Jun 2014 00:06:27 +0000 http://www.creativeactivism.scrapyardchallenge.com/?p=151

]]>
Final Video Documentation Edit http://www.creativeactivism.scrapyardchallenge.com/final-video-documentation-edit/ Sun, 01 Jun 2014 02:41:42 +0000 http://www.creativeactivism.scrapyardchallenge.com/?p=149 Here’s an edit of most of the footage from the workshop!

]]>
Final Showcase Central Park Zoo http://www.creativeactivism.scrapyardchallenge.com/final-showcase-central-park-zoo/ Sat, 10 May 2014 19:44:21 +0000 http://www.creativeactivism.scrapyardchallenge.com/?p=140 Today students got to show their projects on the grounds of the Central Park Zoo! Here are some photos from the day! It was a great success!

]]>
Images from Final Projects! http://www.creativeactivism.scrapyardchallenge.com/images-from-final-projects/ Fri, 09 May 2014 01:09:39 +0000 http://www.creativeactivism.scrapyardchallenge.com/?p=135

]]>
Finishing Up Projects http://www.creativeactivism.scrapyardchallenge.com/finishing-up-projects/ Wed, 30 Apr 2014 02:34:13 +0000 http://www.creativeactivism.scrapyardchallenge.com/?p=118 Some more great progress today on final projects! See pics below:

birdcircuit

ELWire

terrarium

 

More Pics:

 

]]>
Final Projects Nearing Completion http://www.creativeactivism.scrapyardchallenge.com/final-projects-nearing-completion/ Wed, 23 Apr 2014 11:57:22 +0000 http://www.creativeactivism.scrapyardchallenge.com/?p=113 Here’s some more images of work done on final projects! One session left!

]]>
Bird Hit Counters and More http://www.creativeactivism.scrapyardchallenge.com/bird-hit-counters-and-more/ Sun, 13 Apr 2014 17:31:26 +0000 http://www.creativeactivism.scrapyardchallenge.com/?p=106 birds

Some video documentation of the early stages of building of the Bird Hit Counter made with aluminum foil, recycled springs from old printers, and a vintage counter.

Here’s a photo of the hardware for the Bird Hit Counter prior to being hooked up to the recycled electronics component and homemade switch:

birdhit

]]>
Building Final Projects! http://www.creativeactivism.scrapyardchallenge.com/building-final-projects/ Wed, 02 Apr 2014 13:49:56 +0000 http://www.creativeactivism.scrapyardchallenge.com/?p=94 Here are some images and video from the final project building process. Materials ranged from discarded electronics and the other waste we’ve collected as well as cardboard boxes and other structural elements:

Building Bird Hit Counters!

]]>
Circuitboard Skating! http://www.creativeactivism.scrapyardchallenge.com/circuitboard-skating/ Wed, 26 Mar 2014 02:05:02 +0000 http://www.creativeactivism.scrapyardchallenge.com/?p=86 Three workshoppers wanted to create a smooth surface on the circuit boards they were repurposing for their final project and so we did some circuit board ice skating by strapping the boards to their shoes and having them skate around the Zoo! Gives new meaning to the “Electric Slide”!

Video below:

]]>
Scrapyard Challenge Part 4 http://www.creativeactivism.scrapyardchallenge.com/scrapyard-challenge-part-4/ Wed, 19 Mar 2014 03:59:21 +0000 http://www.creativeactivism.scrapyardchallenge.com/?p=78 Some more images and video from the workshop!

]]>